Pluto and me…Planets…Again?

Once upon a time, in a planned home birth that ended in an emergency c-section in September 2013, my first son was born. A reminder of what that was like can be read in This New Life – it was a doozy of an experience.

My son is perfectly unfolding as a human, and has always unfolded in that way…Even when he holds up a mirror and condescendingly points out that I need to say ‘please’ when I ask him to hand me something that I can’t reach. 

I can’t reach many things at the moment, especially from the floor, because I have my own orbit in my 8th month of pregnancy with my second son. 

They say that the second pregnancy, and every pregnancy, is different. This one feels very familiar because my first son and second son have the exact same due date, just 4 years apart. I will say, this pregnancy has felt shorter somehow, and bigger…way bigger. I grow Viking children. Giant heads. It’s astonishing and terrifying as a 5’4″ female. Whose ancient genes are these?! Thank god for modern science.

The other major difference, is that my husband and I have now been vegans for a month, and do not have any intention of returning to the omnivorous way of life. The benefits in such a short time for both of us has been remarkable, and with today’s options for vegan products, much easier than we had anticipated.

I know what you’re thinking. The lady who planned a crunchy home birth last pregnancy has turned extra crunchy by introducing a vegan diet while preganant with #2 because…west coast. Sometimes I do look in the mirror and think, “New phone, who dis?” Because I was a fast food junky in my first pregnancy. 

Let me share how my first pregnancy went:

  • A little bit of nausea around 2pm each day in the first trimester, used empty file folders to evaporate my upper lip sweat.
  • Hired a midwife as my primary care provider who really focused on my weight gain of epic proportions.
  • Tested on the cusp for gestational diabetes, treated as though tested positive. 
  • Assigned a dietician who told me to eat Splenda and chemical laden foods with no fat for my entire 2nd and 3rd trimester. Tested my blood 5 times a day, kept a food journal. Did not oblige on the no fat foods. still wouldn’t.
  • Swollen cankles up to my knees, entire body pregnant. Shocking enough to have complete strangers approach me and say, “Are you sure you want to eat that? Do you want a fat baby?” Classy people.
  • 11 days overdue, 40 hours of back labour, emergency c-section for failure to progress. Good lady times.

Here’s how my second pregnancy has gone:

  • Terrible nausea all the live long day in the first trimester. No amount of fanning upper lip sweat helped. Constantly sweating. Dove made a damn fortune off me.
  • Hired a maternity doctor. Never once has told me my weight upon my request, and doesn’t care. Beautiful. Self esteem for the win.
  • Tested negative for gestational diabetes. Praise Allah.
  • Craving dark leafy greens, disgusted by processed foods. Tested low for iron counts. Taking supplement. 
  • Feet began swelling in the third trimester. Very sore joints. I’d turned into a waddling Macy’s Day Parade balloon. 
  • Switched to eating vegan at 30 weeks after watching a terrifying documentary that showed my entire family history for cause of death. Knowledge man, it’ll get ya.
  • Feet fairly normal sized now, even in the heat of summer, normal feeling joints, and more energy. Lost weight even though measuring 2 weeks ahead of my due date. Ask me where I get my protein bro. #veganwinning
  • Planned c-section for 38 weeks. Because, screw that. I’m good man. #bigheads #vikings 

I’d have to admit that the second pregnancy has been different, even though both of my children were Christmas spirits (“OMG Mom! You are so embarrassing!” They will say in Highschool).

Different cravings, different distribution, different choices, different conditions. Some worse, others better. Quite the journeys. All resulting in a tiny human who will grow, make so much mess, and tell you to say ‘please’ when you ask him to pick up your Oreo cookie (because they’re vegan, and I’m no saint) off the floor while you orbit the sun one more time…

Do you think Santa is vegan?

Sincerely yours,

Fumbling Mom (x2)

2 thoughts on “Pluto and me…Planets…Again?

  1. I’m so happy for you, Kelly! Not the feeling crappy part, but the life in general part. You always face everything with such a great attitude, laid back, with a smile on top. ❤

Thoughts?